Home » Activities & Initiatives » Awards

Jump$tart Awards

Recognizing Leadership and Outstanding Achievement in the Financial Literacy Effort

Each April, the Jump$tart Coalition recognizes leadership and outstanding achievement in the effort to advance the financial literacy of students at its annual awards dinner in Washington, DC. 

Photos of the 2016 Annual Awards Dinner and honorees will be posted soon.  

Some informal pictures are currently available on our Facebook page and through Twitter.

William E. Odom Visionary Leadership Award

Named in honor of Bill Odom, former chairman of Ford Motor Credit Company, whose vision led to the creation of the Jump$tart Coalition. This award recognizes individuals for their significant contribution to financial education, their leadership, vision, and the length of their service to the financial literacy effort.

Susie Irvine, president of the AFSA Education Foundation and previous Odom Award winner; Rod Griffin, Director, Public Education, Experian Shared Marketing & Innovation; Laura Levine, Jump$tart president and CEO; and Ted Beck, Jump$tart Chairman; present the 2015 Odom Award to retired Experian vice president Maxine Sweet (middle). 

2015 - Maxine Sweet

2014 - Theodore R. Daniels

2013 - Annamaria Lusardi, Ph.D.

2012 - U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan,
Sarah Duncan, and John W. Rogers, Jr.

2011 - Carrie Schwab-Pomerantz

2010 - William E. Wilcox

2009 - Barbara O'Neill

2008 - Stanley Breitbard

2007 - Elizabeth Schiever (posthumously)

2006 - Jane Schuchardt

2005 - M. Susie Irvine

2004 - Lewis Mandell

2003 - William L. Anthes

2002 - John E. Clow

2001 - H. Randy Lively, Jr.

2000 - Rosella Bannister

1999 - William E. Odom

Ted Daniels, 2014 Odom Award recipient

Annamaria Lusardi, Ph.D. receives the 2013 Odom Award


Annamaria Lusardi, Ph.D. receives the 2013 Odom Award

John Rogers receives 2012 Odom

John W. Rogers Jr. accepts the 2012 Odom Award on behalf of co-founders of the Ariel Community Academy, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and his sister Sarah Duncan.

Federal Leadership Award

Introduced in 2004 as the Federal Legislator Award, it initially recognized current members of the United States Congress who had demonstrated support for financial education and youth financial literacy. In 2010, the award was renamed the Federal Leadership Award to include non-elected leaders of the federal government.

Ted Beck, Marc Capuano (accepting the Federal Leadeship Award on behalf of U.S. Senator Jack Reed), Laura Levine and Nat Sillin

2015 - U.S. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)

2014 - CFPB Director Richard Cordray

2014 - U.S. Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH-15)

2013 - U.S. Senator Kay Hagan (D-NC)

2012 - U.S. Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY-4)

2011 - Federal Reserve Board Chairman Ben S. Bernanke

2010 - FDIC Chairman Sheila Bair

2010 - U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan

2009 - U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-30-TX)

2008 - U.S. Senator Wayne Allard (R-CO)

2008 - U.S. Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ)

2007 - U.S. Senator Michael Enzi (R-WY)

2007 - U.S. Rep. Earl Pomeroy (D-ND-At Large)

2006 - U.S. Sen. Rick Santorum (R-PA)

2006 - U.S. Rep. Rubén Hinojosa (D-15-TX)

2005 - U.S. Senator Jon Corzine (D-NJ)

2005 - U.S. Rep. Judy Biggert (R-13-IL)

2004 - U.S. Senator Daniel K. Akaka (D-HI)

2004 - U.S. Rep. David Dreier (R-26-CA)

State Coalition of the Year

Jump$tart’s State Coalition of the Year Award was first suggested by Dr. Lew Mandell, one of the Jump$tart Coalitions founding board members, and was introduced by Jump$tart in 2005. This award is an important recognition of the significant contribution of Jump$tart’s affiliated state coalitions and is an opportunity to show our appreciation for these grassroots coalitions, which operate almost entirely with volunteers.

Chairman's Award

This special award given in special circumstances by the Chairman of the Jump$tart Coalition Board of Directors. The award recognizes individuals for their significant contributions to the Jump$tart Coalition and for their service towards the financial literacy effort.

Loretta Abrams (center), Senior Vice President, Corporate Sustasinability, HSBC Bank USA (Retired), receives the Chairman's Award from Jump$tart Chairman Ted Beck, with Jump$tart CEO Laura Levine.

2015- Loretta Abrams presented by J$ Chairman Ted Beck

2013 – Neil Milner presented by J$ Chairman Ted Beck

2011 – U.S. Senator Daniel K. Akaka (D-HI) presented by J$ Chairman Neil Milner

2005 – U.S. Rep. Ralph Regula (R-OH-16) presented by J$ Chairman Randy Lively

Neil Milner 2013
Jump$tart Chairman Ted Beck honors his
predecessor Neil Milner, with help from
HSBC VP Carlo Airdo.