Home » About Us » National Partners » Credit Union National Association (CUNA)

Credit Union National Association (CUNA)

The Credit Union National Association (CUNA), based in Washington, D.C., and Madison, Wisc., is the premier national trade association serving roughly 7,000 federal and state-chartered credit unions.

Credit unions are cooperative financial institutions, owned and controlled by the people who use their services. These people are members. Credit unions serve groups that share a common characteristic such as where they work, live, or worship.

Credit unions, like other financial institutions, accept savings and make loans, but banks are in business to make a profit. Banks are owned by groups of stockholders whose interests include earning a healthy return on their investments. Credit unions are not-for-profit, and exist to serve their members, providing a safe, convenient place for members to save money and to get loans at reasonable rates.

Credit unions, also like other financial institutions, are closely regulated. And they operate in a prudent manner. The National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund, administered by the National Credit Union Administration, an agency of the federal government, insures the savings of up to $250,000 per individual account.

In partnership with state credit union leagues, CUNA provides many services to credit unions, including representation, information, public relations, continuing professional education, and business development. CUNA also works with related organizations to provide products and services to U.S. credit unions and, through them, to their more than 95 million members.

Credit Union National Association, Inc. (CUNA)
601 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, South Bldg. Suite 600
Washington, DC 20004
Phone: (202) 508-6764